On page and off page SEO techniques

On page and off page SEO techniques


 On page and off page SEO techniques

On page and off page optimization are two most touted words in the field of search engine optimization. Both are vital to the success of an online business. Though the world of SEO has changed forever with the evolution of social media, it is very important for online businesses to understand the relevance of these two processes in order to get organic traffic from search engines.
Promoting a website in general is something that any business seeking growth nowadays needs to master for best results.
SEO tactics refer to the methods used to boost your website’s search engine ranking for popular and relevant keywords and phrases for maximum exposure.

On-page SEO

On page SEO is the SEO on your actual page or blog. This is part of the SEO process specifically focused on performing tasks on your website that will help you achieve maximum rankings in google, yahoo, bing, and other top search engines.One of the most popular ways that search engines worldwide tend to rank websites is by looking for the prominence and frequency of certain keywords and phrases on various facets of your site, and assigning an appropriate degree of weight accordingly.
More weight is given to keywords and phrases that are used in prominent places such as headings, page titles, domain names, and images.
Employ the words and phrases that are most important to your site in these places wherever possible and practical for best results. However, be very careful as to not stuff your page with keywords. Keyword stuffing is an absolute no-no.
Always ensure that your chosen keywords and phrases are frequently searched by others before incorporating them into your site copy. Search the internet and see what phrases and words are the most popular. You want these words to be completely relevant to the products and services you are offering. Whenever there’s a solid opportunity to use one of your keywords in a natural-sounding fashion on your site, seize the opportunity for maximum results.

Off-page SEO

Off-page SEO is the use of keywords off your site. Search engines use mentions of your site, business name, and keywords used on other places across the web in order to determine your ranking in their results.
A detailed explanation of off page SEO

First, we have link building, which plays a big role in the google algorithm.
But it goes deeper than just link building. It’s also your backlink profile, the types of backlinks you have, the authority of those backlinks, and the quality of the backlinks.
As an example, if you’re a local business, off page optimization strategies include: claiming your google My business page, optimizing your goggle My business page with your exact address, keyword rich descriptions, choosing the correct category, adding as many images as required, adding your logo, getting your address verified, and linking to that page from your website.

Creating Local business citations

Next, you take the exact information and create citations on other local directories.
By doing this, your name, address, and phone number will be listed on hundreds of different sites. And it will match your google My business page exactly for consistency and continuity purposes, which is exactly what google wants.
Another thing about the citation pages is that all of them have reviews. So you want to focus on getting a handful of reviews for the top properties like google My business, yelp, angie’s list, and similar well-respected options.
On another note, you also may need to get citations on very niche specific directories. As an example, if you’re a plumber you’ll want to look for home-improvement directories, plumbing directories, and directories in your local community.

Contextual link building

And let’s not forget about contextual link building.
In this case, you’re working diligently to get your business listed on association sites, feature pieces on local news publications, features on industry-specific news publications, guest posts on blogs in your industry, resource page backlinks, content marketing, and tons more link building possibilities.
Remember, you’re reaching out to all of these different online publications in an effort to get contextual links pointing back to your website.

Brand awareness & other off page optimization strategies

It has been shown that a lot of people are googling your –particularly your brand name – and finding your website, your rankings will go higher for all of your keywords.
By improving your brand awareness, you are also improving your rankings.
You can use this to your advantage by hiring people to consistently type your brand name into the search engines, because this is another example of off page optimization and it definitely works to improve your rankings.
Also, your click through rate on the search engines is also important for off page optimization.
If your rank at the bottom of the 1st page of google for a particular keyword and you’re getting a high click through rate when people are searching that particular keyword string, ultimately the algorithm is going to recognize that searches like your page for this particular keyword phrase and they’ll rank you higher on the page.
That’s about it for on page and off page optimization.

What is AdSense CTR or AdSense click through rate?

What is AdSense CTR or AdSense click through rate?
Adsense CTR

Adsense CTR

Adsense CTR explained

With Marketing and branding efforts changing pace over time, Internet Ads had become a virtual stop for most marketers. Advertisers create attractive banners to catch the attention of viewers on the internet. While Web Entrepreneurs such as bloggers or other service providers place the banners at a suitable place to enhance the visibility of the banners to the viewers.

For Advertisers, CTR is a high validating point to find positive conversions. For Publishers, CTR is a high validating point to ensure that the visitors are the perfect audience for the Ad. Overall, CTR is the kickass point in internet marketing strategy.

In the voice of bloggers, Adsense CTR is the key point that can generate revenue and can retain the Advertisers. If you fail with your Adsense CTR reports, your advertisers are going to show their back towards you.

So, What is Adsense CTR?

Click through rate is calculated based on the number of clicks on the Ads per visitor of your blog or per viewer of the Ad unit.


  • Page CTR = No. of Clicks on Ad / Page views
  • CTR% = No. of Clicks on Ad * 100 / Page views

Glossary of CTR as explained by Adsense support group

Let us analyse CTR with an example:

Let us assume you are receiving a traffic of 1000 viewers to your blog. Now, assuming 10 people click on your ad unit on the page, then

CTR% = 10*100 / 1000 = 1% . Thus, you have a CTR% of 1%.

As a publisher, you must understand that maintaining good Adsense CTR is essential. When you get high Adsense CTR, your earnings increase. Also, a good Adsense CTR will make way for high CPC Ads to your website.

Does high Adsense CTR only matter?

Having high CTR range is not a long term measure of revenue you can make. As a publisher, you must expect a high CPC Ad even with low CTR. In order to get high CPC Ads, you must be pretty clear with the keyword usage in your content. Some Keywords have advertisers with high CPC.

Also, in a mathematical way,

Imagine you have an Ad unit at $0.01 CPC (cost per click). If 100 people visit your website and all 100 people click on the Ad (CTR% = 100% here) , then the net revenue earned by you is $1.

Now, Imagine you have high CPC keywords being used in your blog. So, you have an Ad unit at $1 CPC (cost per click). If 100 people visit your website and all the 100 people click on the Ad (CTR% = 100%), then the net revenue earned will be $100.

Thus, to earn high revenue out of Adsense, I would suggest targeting of high CPC Ad units with your keyword usage.

Do Read: How revenue gets shared with Adsense Publishers ?

Do you have any queries or suggestions? Tell us more in the comment section below.

How much does AdSense Revenue share with publishers?

How much does AdSense Revenue share with publishers?
how much Adsense revenue share

how much Adsense revenue does Google share

Adsense Revenue Share Explained

Google AdSense is one of the top paying contextual Ad network available in the market. Adsense gets its base revenue via Google Adwords. Adwords is the Advertising platform for all market products. Advertisers pay Google Adwords to display their Ads. Publishers retrieve the Ad units via Google Adsense and thus, Google Ads get displayed onto several websites. So, if you are a publisher, you must have had a tough time understanding what revenue google share with you.

At early times, no publisher was aware of the revenue shared by google to publishers. In an Official Announcement, Google had revealed the Adsense revenue share for two of it’s hot Adsense Products:

1. Adsense for Content

2. Google Adsense for Search [ Google Custom Search Engine ]

Google Adsense for content:

Adsense for content shares 68% of Ad revenue with their publishers.

Google Adsense for content is the main source of income for many blogs and news channels online. The rest 32% of Ad revenue is sustained by google. It is used to develop and maintain the platform connecting Adwords and Adsense users. With a number of blogs on the rise which implies a number of publishers on the rise, 68% Ad revenue share seems acceptable.

Google Adsense for Search: [Google Custom Search Engine]

Google Adsense for search shares 51% of Ad revenue with publishers.

Google Adsense for Search is a search tool available for Adsense publishers to embed google search onto their website. This is called Custom Search Engine and it’s SERP gives preference to your web pages and also displays Google Ads in SERP.

Other Google Adsense Units:

As listed above, google adsense had revealed it’s revenue share for only 2 Adsense units. ‘Adsense for search’ and ‘Adsense for content’.

Other AdSense units include Adsense for Feeds, Adsense for Games and Mobile Applications. Google had not revealed the revenue share for the above units. Google made a quick statement on the reason for not disclosing the revenue share. The reason is that google is still learning the cost endured for the above services as they are quickly evolving.

Benefits of Knowing the Adsense revenue share:

This transparency will help your Business/ blog make good revenue and in turn develop on a marginal scale. Google had revealed the revenue share for publishers to get more insight into choosing Adsense. Google Adsense is a high paying PPC network. In order for publishers to acknowledge the fact, google had to jot down the revenue shares. This stats help you understand that you can make high income per impression from Adsense as compared to other networks.

Word Of Caution in understanding Adsense Revenue share :

Don’t get misled by the concept of Ad revenue share. Stats mentioned by Other PPC networks might not fetch you more revenue. Google had showcased this with an example as shown,

Additionally, when considering different monetization options, we encourage you to focus on the total revenue generated from your site, rather than just revenue share, which can be misleading. For example, you would receive $68 with AdSense for content for $100 worth of advertising that appeared on your site. If another ad network offers an 80% revenue share but is only able to collect $50 from ads served on your site, you would earn $40. In this case, a higher revenue share wouldn’t make up for the lower revenue yield of the other ad network.

What do you feel about the revenue share? Feel free to use our comment section for your opinions.

3 ways you should never place google Ads

3 ways you should never place google Ads

Google Ad Placement Policy: Top ways you should never place google ads

Google Adsense is a contextual Ad network that is one of the best for website owners and bloggers to monetize their website. Adsense is favoured by most bloggers and for some, it takes the highest contribution in their total income. Having said that, it is also important for me to mention, “AdSense is like your third grade Math Teacher!”. Yes!! Adsense is strict and cruel unless you obey their Policy, terms and conditions.

One such Policy that you had agreed while signing up for Adsense is the Google Adsense Ad Placement Policy. Adsense considers clicks as accidental when the visitor was about to click on a link, but with visual error clicks on an Ad.

For Example, Let us take this scenario, –

Ads under navigation menu where each navigation menu button hovers to a new menu. When users try to hover over to the child items of the navigation menu, they end up clicking the Ads instead of the child item. This is one such breach that can potentially increase your CTR to a very high extent. Always remember, when your CTR goes high, google has a high chance of reviewing your Ad placement strategy. When Google Adsense recognises your malpractice, your account gets banned for a lifetime.
Never place google ads on such places.

Example for Accidental Click Adsense Fraud:

Accidental Click Adsense Guide Taken Mind

Accidental Click Adsense fraud – Taken Mind Guide

Also, using Flashy Animation or any other flash content requesting the users to click on Ads is considered as a fraud under Ad Placement Policy of Google Adsense. Providing text that mentions compensation the user with incentives on clicking the Ad banner also comes under the radar as Adsense Fraud. Never Place google ads on such places.

Example for Flashy Content that can get yourself an Adsense Ban:

Wrong Adsense Ad  Placement Policy

Against the Adsense Ad Placement Policy

Example for Misleading Incentive offers to visitors:

unacceptable implementation of google adsense ads

unacceptable implementation of google adsense ads

I would suggest you to avoid these Ad placements beforehand and have a simplified Ad Placement Strategy. Ads on the start and finish of posts might fetch you very good CTR organically. What do you think about the Ad Placement strategy to be followed? Tell us in the comment section below.

AdSense account Ban – Protect yourself – Adsense Guide

AdSense account Ban – Protect yourself – Adsense Guide

Google Adsense Account Ban – Explore the reason

Adsense is one of the best contextual Ad networks for displaying relevant Ads onto your website or Blog. As such, getting a google Adsense account approval is quite a tough task. Good quality content and design of your Website / blog can easily make you pass the approval process. Phew! And you thought that was the difficult step. Wait a minute! Did you ever try violating Adsense Policies or Terms & Conditions ?

Nailing the point – Maintaining your Adsense account is difficult than getting Adsense approval from Google. In this post, I would be pointing out the basic mistakes most web Entrepreneurs / bloggers do. If you had just got your Adsense account approved – I would say ‘Prevention is better than cure’. If you had just got your Adsense account banned, you must go through the list. There’s a good chance to find where you went wrong from the below list.

Also Read: Why Google Adsense is the best Ad network for you?

Also Read: How to get your Adsense Account Approved ?

Top Reason for you to face an Adsense Account Ban

1. Clicking on the Ads on your own website

Google Adsense T&C is against user generating invalid clicks. This simply means that you can’t go click on your own ads. If you have your Adsense account suspended because you clicked on your own ads, then it’s just a shame on you. When you had signed up for Adsense, you clearly made a statement that you won’t click on your own ads. If you had done this – end of discussion – you are to be blamed.

But Wait! What if someone who dislikes you, like your Ex-Girlfriend, your business competitor or the kid you picked up a fight in your third grade does this ? Well, According to google, you are completely responsible for the Ad Segment you had placed on your website. So, this also counts as an invalid click. This time, without any second thought, your Adsense account would get suspended.

Update: Google had changed its T&C . As of now, Invalid clicks doesn’t lead to an Adsense account ban but you are temporarily barred from displaying Ads. You can appeal the decision of google by an appeal form. After a successful investigation, if you are in no way responsible of the invalid clicks, you get back your Adsense account.

2. Publishing Ads on E-mails you send:

If you wish to increase your revenue by emailing the ads to your targets, you will result in an Adsense account ban. Traffic sources help google prevent mishaps from happening.

3. Generating Views to your website via bots or Traffic Exchanger or Paid Traffic:

If you try producing artificial Ad Impressions with the help of bots or Traffic Exchanger, you have a very good chance of getting an Adsense account ban for Lifetime. Always remember that the traffic source for your website is always underscan by google. If any malpractice such as bots or traffic exchange activity is detected – it’s time you forget about google Adsense. I had personally seen bloggers buying traffic or using traffic exchange program at Hitleap. All attempts had been a failure. There’s no way out other than facing an Adsense account ban.

4. Manipulating and Playing with the Ad Target Mechanism:

Adsense is the best contextual Ad network because it serves targeted Ads by tracking the activities of the viewer. If you try to provide keywords that are irrelevant to the website, just to target high CPC ads, you will get your account terminated. This is difficult to find out, but once when google does, you are out of the game. Trust me. Google will.

5. Encouraging Users to Interact with Ad Elements:

Some websites use statements requesting the users to click on Ads. This is defined as an invalid click by google. Some websites go with the terms

  • “We are shifting to new servers. Click Below and help us”
  • “Click the banner below to download”

Some websites go with the image symbols like an arrow mark suggesting the users to click on Ads. When any such breach is detected, you are out of the game for the lifetime. Forget Adsense.

6. Placing Ads in a manner that can generate accidental clicks:

The techniques used to generate accidental clicks generates a high CTR. The Average CTR for google ads is around 2% – 3%. When your CTR goes high, your account and website come under review by google. If you place the Ads in a manner that encourages accidental clicks, your result in an Adsense account ban.

7. If you Embed your ads in applications:

If you embed your ad in a desktop application or in a chrome plugin or any other tool outside of your website, you are likely to fan a lifetime Google Adsense account ban.

8. Copyright Infringement:

Google doesn’t like you trying to monetize the hard work of others. Most websites holding copyrighted content will never get accepted by Adsense. If you get your Adsense account approved, and later upload copyrighted contents, you are likely to face a ban. It’s always advised to give credits, whenever you upload copyrighted content onto your website.

Also Read: The Complete Adsense Guide

There are multiple other reasons and stories by people who had been blocked by Adsense Program. The best way to understand:

Learn from Other’s Mistake.

Image Credit
Did you get banned for any other Reason ?
Share with us in the comment section.

Google Adsense Monetization : Why you should apply ?

Google Adsense Monetization : Why you should apply ?

Why Apply For Google Adsense Monetization ?

Earning money online is interesting and displaying Ads aka Advertisements opens a whole new bunch of opportunities in making money online. So, how do you get people to display ads on your website?

Let us look into the options available,

1. Alert every company that such and such blog of yours exist and they can advertise.

2. Apply for an Ad network with your web site and display relevant Ads on your website.

The second option makes a lot more sense and makes the process of displaying Ads simpler on your website. So, what are Ad networks?

Each ad network is a company or an organisation who gets called by other companies whenever they want to Advertise a content. Some of the famous Ad networks include Adsense, Chitika, Infolinks, Viglink, etc.
There are so many Ad networks available on the market, why should you choose Adsense?

Why Google Adsense ?

Since you are given so many Ad networks as options, it doesn’t make sense to display a huge number of Ad banners on your website. So, you must effectively look for the Ad network that can pay you a satisfactory amount and also be reliable side by side. Well, this makes Adsense – the best option left for you.

Adsense is a product of google that helps blog owners aka publishers display contextual Ads onto their website. I had personally seen people earning thousands of dollars via google Adsense. To simply put, Adsense is the best Ad network you can see in the market today.

Google Adsense is a contextual network – this means that the Ads displayed on your website are similar to the content of your website. For example, if you start your blog on foods, you are more likely to see restaurants Ads on your website. This makes the Ads become more relevant to the content and thereby the Ads reach the target audience. Also, google Ads take the information data from cookies. Cookie data of a visiting person helps google learn about the interest of the viewer. From the data collected about the interest of the viewer, targeted Ads gets displayed.

Advantage of google Adsense over other networks:

1. Wide Range of Advertisers:

Google Adsense has a high range of publishers, covering all niche categories that all relevant to most bloggers. Thus, showing relevant ads marks the primary advantage of Adsense.

2. Google Adsense is a PPC (Pay per Click) Ad network:

Google Adsense works as a PPC. That means, whenever visitors of your blog clicks on your Ad, they get redirected to the corresponding Ad web page. Also, for every click google adds a few cents or even a few dollars ( if you are really lucky and trust-worthy ) to your account. This amount is called CPC aka Cost Per Click. Also, google deposits a few dollars / cents for every 1000 views of an Ad. This amount deposited is called CPM aka Cost per thousand Impressions.

3. Single Adsense account can account all your website(s) earnings:

With an active Adsense account, it is completely possible to place Ads on any other website that is approved by Adsense. Additionally, you can create custom channels in Adsense and can monitor how various Ad element are interacting with users.

4. Payments and Cash-outs:

Most of the bloggers face problems with the payment from other PPC Ad networks. Google Adsense makes a significant difference from other Ad networks in these relations. Adsense shows a high range of transparency in payments and you are unlikely to face payment issues.

5. Google Adsense is user-friendly and supports multiple platforms:

Google Adsense is highly user-friendly and has it’s own android application. Several third-party iOS applications are available for Adsense. The apps on multiple platforms and also the web app helps users of Adsense in taking a quick review of their earnings.

There are many other advantages in using Adsense over other Ad networks. Got one? Blow up in the comment section below.

DailyDeal-Inspiring Founders buyback Dailydeal from google

DailyDeal-Inspiring Founders buyback Dailydeal from google

Taken Mind Stories!
They sold their company to google for $114 million. Within 17 months, they buyback Dailydeal from google!

Brief History Dailydeal:

Dailydeal was a coupon promotional company similar to Groupon. The Dailydeal company was founded by Fabian and Ferry Heilemann (Brothers). The company had its goal of associating with merchants and publicizing every merchant deal to the public on their website. The duo brothers lived in West Germany. The company got acquired by google within a few months of operation. 17 months later, the founders – Fabin and Ferry Heilemann of Dailydeal called off the deal and got the company back from google!

History of Fabin and Ferry Heilemann:

Fabin and Ferry were born in West Germany. After completing their schooling at a public school, Ferry left to WHU Otto Beisheim School of Management to study economics and Fabin left to Bucerius Law School in Hamburg for studying Law. After their Undergraduate, the duo left for higher studies. This time, Fabin went to the Nottingham University Business School, UK and Ferry left to the Santa Clara University School of Law, USA. Fabin did his Ph.D. in Heidelberg, Germany.

During the course of study, the duo worked for many consulting firms. That was the time, they realized they were not satisfied as consultants. The duo felt that they wanted to take decisions on their own and lead a group of people. That is how, the idea of Entrepreneurship shed light on their minds. They decided to startup.

According to Fabin,

There was just one reason behind the Entrepreneur idea! We want to realise our business ideas, form up a team and definitely lead it to success. We gain self-encouragement by leading our very own company!

In 2001, the duo started an Event Gastronomy company and continued for some years. The idea of Dailydeal.de showed later. The duo ran into more than 60 business models, analysed them, fixed their minds to the most marketable one.

Establishment of Dailydeal.de

Dailydeal was launched in 2009 at Berlin. Richard Branson joined Fabin and Ferry as a web developer. The three-member team released a beta version of the website. They started their merchant dealings on the same day of the website launch. The market situation and the consistent efforts of the trio made growth rate fast. By March 2010, the company sported 100+ employees. Dailydeal addressed hotels, restaurants, saloons, local avenues and small businesses.

Struggle of Dailydeal with the market opponents

Dailydeal had the main market opponent as CityDeal. After CityDeal got acquired by GroupOn in 2010, Growing faster was the only option left for Daily deal to survive. In September 2011, Dailydeal got acquired by google for a whopping $114 Million. By then, dailydeal had 12,000 merchants onboard and had greater user reach.

The future of Dailydeal with google

Heilemann brothers buyback dailydeal

Google brought Dailydeal to enhance their existing ‘google offers’ the deal of the day site of google. Dailydeal helped google reach out to the European market. Eventually, google’s attempt failed. Google started laying off Dailydeal employees in September 2012 and planned to shut down the unit.

Fabin and Ferry buyback Dailydeal

When the news struck Fabin and Ferry’s attention, the duo stepped in to save the company. Fabin and Ferry offered a buyback Dailydeal offer to google to prevent the shutdown and layoff of their employees.

After the buyback Dailydeal offer, the duo brothers stated,

“We are pleased to inform you today that we as founders and managing directors have bought the company DailyDeal back from Google and will now continue to lead it on our own. DailyDeal will, of course, continue to offer the same service and exciting offers – exactly as we have done in the past. In addition, we will expand the business in the coming months. In the name of the DailyDeal team, we thank all of our users, business partners and colleagues for their loyalty and support over the last three years. We are very much looking forward to what lies ahead of us!”

At the time of google’s acquirement of Dailydeal, Fabin and Ferry had made a string of angel investments in berlin and german based companies. These investments financially helped the duo in the buy-back offer. Also dailydeal.de is live and active, providing daily deals, coupon promotions and competing at the present with Groupon.

buyback dailydeal in newspaper article

For some entrepreneurs, it is not just about an “exit”. They make a difference by finding a passage to enter back.