What is AdSense CTR or AdSense click through rate?

What is AdSense CTR or AdSense click through rate?
Adsense CTR

Adsense CTR

Adsense CTR explained

With Marketing and branding efforts changing pace over time, Internet Ads had become a virtual stop for most marketers. Advertisers create attractive banners to catch the attention of viewers on the internet. While Web Entrepreneurs such as bloggers or other service providers place the banners at a suitable place to enhance the visibility of the banners to the viewers.

For Advertisers, CTR is a high validating point to find positive conversions. For Publishers, CTR is a high validating point to ensure that the visitors are the perfect audience for the Ad. Overall, CTR is the kickass point in internet marketing strategy.

In the voice of bloggers, Adsense CTR is the key point that can generate revenue and can retain the Advertisers. If you fail with your Adsense CTR reports, your advertisers are going to show their back towards you.

So, What is Adsense CTR?

Click through rate is calculated based on the number of clicks on the Ads per visitor of your blog or per viewer of the Ad unit.

[OR]

  • Page CTR = No. of Clicks on Ad / Page views
  • CTR% = No. of Clicks on Ad * 100 / Page views

Glossary of CTR as explained by Adsense support group

Let us analyse CTR with an example:

Let us assume you are receiving a traffic of 1000 viewers to your blog. Now, assuming 10 people click on your ad unit on the page, then

CTR% = 10*100 / 1000 = 1% . Thus, you have a CTR% of 1%.

As a publisher, you must understand that maintaining good Adsense CTR is essential. When you get high Adsense CTR, your earnings increase. Also, a good Adsense CTR will make way for high CPC Ads to your website.

Does high Adsense CTR only matter?

Having high CTR range is not a long term measure of revenue you can make. As a publisher, you must expect a high CPC Ad even with low CTR. In order to get high CPC Ads, you must be pretty clear with the keyword usage in your content. Some Keywords have advertisers with high CPC.

Also, in a mathematical way,

Imagine you have an Ad unit at $0.01 CPC (cost per click). If 100 people visit your website and all 100 people click on the Ad (CTR% = 100% here) , then the net revenue earned by you is $1.

Now, Imagine you have high CPC keywords being used in your blog. So, you have an Ad unit at $1 CPC (cost per click). If 100 people visit your website and all the 100 people click on the Ad (CTR% = 100%), then the net revenue earned will be $100.

Thus, to earn high revenue out of Adsense, I would suggest targeting of high CPC Ad units with your keyword usage.

Do Read: How revenue gets shared with Adsense Publishers ?

Do you have any queries or suggestions? Tell us more in the comment section below.

How much does AdSense Revenue share with publishers?

How much does AdSense Revenue share with publishers?
how much Adsense revenue share

how much Adsense revenue does Google share

Adsense Revenue Share Explained

Google AdSense is one of the top paying contextual Ad network available in the market. Adsense gets its base revenue via Google Adwords. Adwords is the Advertising platform for all market products. Advertisers pay Google Adwords to display their Ads. Publishers retrieve the Ad units via Google Adsense and thus, Google Ads get displayed onto several websites. So, if you are a publisher, you must have had a tough time understanding what revenue google share with you.

At early times, no publisher was aware of the revenue shared by google to publishers. In an Official Announcement, Google had revealed the Adsense revenue share for two of it’s hot Adsense Products:

1. Adsense for Content

2. Google Adsense for Search [ Google Custom Search Engine ]

Google Adsense for content:

Adsense for content shares 68% of Ad revenue with their publishers.

Google Adsense for content is the main source of income for many blogs and news channels online. The rest 32% of Ad revenue is sustained by google. It is used to develop and maintain the platform connecting Adwords and Adsense users. With a number of blogs on the rise which implies a number of publishers on the rise, 68% Ad revenue share seems acceptable.

Google Adsense for Search: [Google Custom Search Engine]

Google Adsense for search shares 51% of Ad revenue with publishers.

Google Adsense for Search is a search tool available for Adsense publishers to embed google search onto their website. This is called Custom Search Engine and it’s SERP gives preference to your web pages and also displays Google Ads in SERP.

Other Google Adsense Units:

As listed above, google adsense had revealed it’s revenue share for only 2 Adsense units. ‘Adsense for search’ and ‘Adsense for content’.

Other AdSense units include Adsense for Feeds, Adsense for Games and Mobile Applications. Google had not revealed the revenue share for the above units. Google made a quick statement on the reason for not disclosing the revenue share. The reason is that google is still learning the cost endured for the above services as they are quickly evolving.


Benefits of Knowing the Adsense revenue share:

This transparency will help your Business/ blog make good revenue and in turn develop on a marginal scale. Google had revealed the revenue share for publishers to get more insight into choosing Adsense. Google Adsense is a high paying PPC network. In order for publishers to acknowledge the fact, google had to jot down the revenue shares. This stats help you understand that you can make high income per impression from Adsense as compared to other networks.

Word Of Caution in understanding Adsense Revenue share :

Don’t get misled by the concept of Ad revenue share. Stats mentioned by Other PPC networks might not fetch you more revenue. Google had showcased this with an example as shown,

Additionally, when considering different monetization options, we encourage you to focus on the total revenue generated from your site, rather than just revenue share, which can be misleading. For example, you would receive $68 with AdSense for content for $100 worth of advertising that appeared on your site. If another ad network offers an 80% revenue share but is only able to collect $50 from ads served on your site, you would earn $40. In this case, a higher revenue share wouldn’t make up for the lower revenue yield of the other ad network.

What do you feel about the revenue share? Feel free to use our comment section for your opinions.